The Entomological Society of Alberta has a number of awards and honours that it bestows upon members.

Honorary life membership in the ESA may be conferred on anyone who has performed long and distinguished service in the field of entomology. In addition to the recognition as an honorary member, such members shall be exempt from payment of the annual membership fee. All members in good standing are entitled to propose the names of prospective honorary life members, provided each such proposal is supported by two other members, and documentation is submitted in writing to the Secretary at least 30 days prior to the Annual Meeting. Honorary life members shall be elected at an Annual Meeting, and the total number of such shall not exceed five percent of the total membership.

The ESA established the Frederick S. Carr Award (prior to October 2004, known as the Carr Award) in 1996 to honour contributions to the furtherance of entomology in Alberta, excluding professional obligations, by outstanding non-professional people (hobbyists) and professional entomologists. Nominations by ESA members, consisting of a letter outlining the accomplishments or attributes of the nominee, may be submitted to the Secretary at least 30 days prior to the Annual Meeting. The Board of Directors, after considering recommendations from the Awards Committee, votes on all nominees put forth, and bestows the Award no more than once per year.

The ESA makes available to student members of the Society and undergraduate students (that need not be members of the ESA) monetary awards to assist with travel to the ESA Annual Meeting and other expenses.

For information on awards and honours offered by the Entomological Society of Canada, see the ESC awards page.

Updated: December 7, 2009