The Entomological Society of Alberta was organized on November 27, 1952, at a meeting held in Lethbridge, Alberta, as an affiliate of the Entomological Society of Canada, and consisted of 42 charter members. A certificate of incorporation was obtained under the Societies Act of Alberta on February 19, 1953. The membership of about 70 people at that time consisted mainly of Dominion (Federal) entomologists at the Science Service Laboratories of the Canada Department of Agriculture in Lethbridge (presently, located in the Lethbridge Research Centre of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada), the Suffield Experimental Station of the Canada Department of Agriculture (closed in 1956), the Forest Zoology Laboratory of the Canada Department of Agriculture in Calgary, and students and staff from the University of Alberta. One of the prime motives for establishing the Society was to encourage interest in amateur entomology, which had declined from its earlier vigour.

The object of the Society shall be to foster the advancement, exchange, and dissemination of the knowledge of insects in relation to their importance in agriculture, horticulture, forestry, public health, industry and for its own sake, among the people of the Province of Alberta.

Any persons interested in entomology may become a member of the ESA by submitting to the Secretary of the Society a completed membership application form (downloadable pdf format) and membership fee payment. Regular- and Student Members receive a copy of the Proceedings from the Annual General Meeting of the Society. The cost of annual memberships for Regular Membership is $10.00, and $5.00 for Student Membership.

For more information about the ESA, please contact the Treasurer of the Society.

The ESA now has a permanent email address, ESAlberta> All email for the Society may be sent to this address and will be forwarded to the appropriate board member.

* The symbol "@" in e-mail addresses has been replaced with the symbol ">".

Updated: May 1, 2009